Mermaid Hair with Colour Freedom!

Hello everyone! Today I will be discussing how I achieved this GORGEOUS blue colour melt ombre look by using the Truely Blue by Colour Freedom.

12105730_482905685223256_3071875482479845210_n

So if you want to learn how to re-create this gorgeous mermaid hair then keep on reading!

So the first vital step to achieving this look is to have a good base to put the colours on. The blonder the better, but when doing this process please make sure NOT to over bleach/colour remove your hair. As much as bright colours are gorgeous, no one wants a damaged mane of hair. I did this look on a wig, but it is as easy on your own head, I’d say easier on your own hair as your not trying to balance a polystyrene head on a camera tripod when dying the hair!

gghg

This is the base colour I had to work with then putting the blue on. If you want to see the video of how I turned it from a yellow to a cool blonde check out the link.

So starting with this blank canvas of blonde hair is the first step. the second step is mixing the colours. Now as stated earlier, I used the Truely Blue by Colour Freedom and I mixed the colour up with conditioner in different ratio’s. For the lighter blue, I’d say 4-5 parts conditioner 1 part dye. And for the roots I used 1 part conditioner 1 part dye. You can guesstimate what colour it will turn out by the colour of the dye when mixing. If it’s really white or the lightest blue possible, it’ll be really light. If it’s deep and dark blue, it’ll be a deep dark blue. So my main colour was a minty blue colour, and my root colour was a dark blue, looking very similar to what the dye looks like on it’s own but more of a runny consistency to it.

Next step is application. I did the main colour first, separating the hair into layers and dying, missing out the roots. DYE THE TIPS WITH YOUR MAIN COLOUR. This is important, just do it, trust me. When it comes to separating the hair, I do it just in layers like I’m separating towels, painting each towel and then running my fingers through spreading the colour down the hair. It’s hard to explain how, so you can see how I did the same technique in my blonde video, click the link.

Now once you’ve done all of the main colour, apply the roots. When doing this separate the hair as before but try to blend the colour down. There’s nothing nastier then block roots, and don’t be afraid if it seems like it’s spreading down into the normal colour. This will create the gorgeous ombre colour melt effect.

Once all the colour is applied, leave it for as long as you want. I honestly think I left mine for just under 2 hours, just so the colour will bake into the hair and stay there!

Once your ready to wash the colour out, try your best to use cold water. Washing it with cold water will keep the folicles closed in the hair so it will grip the colour better. Also try not to shampoo it, just condition it (IF NEEDED). I never ever shampoo hair once it’s been dyed, it’s potentially just washing away colour you’ve just caked in, in my personal oppinion. Also I don’t really condition the hair after it’s been dyed as most bright dyes (directions is a good example) have lots of conditioning elements in it so I wouldn’t worry about doing so.

And your finished result should be… GORGEOUS!

I hope you enjoy this little tutorial, remember to share it with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

